Noteworthy

I wanted to post something up here. I’ve been meaning to but haven’t had much to say as I’ve gravitated between both busy and lazy days but mostly, countless long nights.

I wanted to provide you, the reader, with music I’ve been enjoying throughout the summer (that I think you should know about):

Toro Y Moi

I first came across Toro Y Moi, like so many other things, on Gorilla vs. Bear. The first song to really grab a hold of me was “Talamuk.” It’s a mellow, bassy dance track that’s a bit chopped n’ screwed towards the end. With another look at the band’s Myspace, I found a set of older songs, “109” and “Ekleton,” which really got me excited. At some point Toro Y Moi made the transition from lo-fi, guitar pop to mostly mid-tempo house. It doesn’t seem to make a whole lot of sense but either hat fits on Toro Y Moi’s head.

http://www.myspace.com/toroymoi

Jap f. Young Dro + Big Kuntry “How We Get”

I don’t really listen to rap music, but I know a good song when I hear one and this is one. I love the lines “Kush is what we smokin’ / Patron is what we sippin’.” This is an all-around, great party track and in some ways reminds me of “Country Grammar.” Call me crazy, if you want.

http://www.thefader.com/2009/07/01/jap-f-young-dro-big-kuntry-how-we-get-mp3/

The Drums

I’ve seen this Brooklyn-based via Florida band twice this summer as they’ve gigged around NYC constantly. They initially took me by complete surprise as I went to go see them on a whim. They have this 80’s New-Wave meets surf-pop aesthetic that I think works for them. “Me and the Moon” is my favorite song by them. It’s as dark as a sunshine pop track about unrequited love could be.

http://hypem.com/#/track/710576/the+drums+-+me+and+the+moon

Drake

This could be filed under the “guilty pleasure” section but I won’t do it. I unabashedly enjoy this former teen actor’s work. I was a big fan of R&B in elementary school and middle school (even though I didn’t understand half the sexual references made in the music). It always seemed like a natural transition to move from listening to R&B, which centers on soulful musings of unrequited love and being really good at sex, to Emo, which centers on more depressed musings of unrequited love and being bad at sex (?). Does Drake straddle the line? Thanks to Gabe and Peter K. for this discovery.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPAmhN4yeck&feature=related

http://www.thefader.com/2009/6/10/freeload-trey-songz-f-drake-invented-sex-mp3/

Lessins

Lessins is the House project of Toro Y Moi brain child, Chaz Bundick. Bundick puts on his dance shoes for Lessins and doesn’t look back. The song “Lina” is a damn good dance track that doesn’t overwhelm (sorry Gabe and Matt). More music like this should be played at parties because it doesn’t annoy you or force itself upon you.

http://www.myspace.com/lessins

Ganglians

Ganglians are not for the faint of heart. I’m going to forewarn you that it takes a bit of effort to listen to this band. I think they get their name-sake from the fact that the lead man is tall and “gangly” and doesn’t appear to have an ass. Start with the song “Hair.” It is reminscent of a WAVVES’ track but more psych and a little more thought out. I saw these guys and was in the midst of a food coma while they played their set so I didn’t fully appreciate their performance. I’m definitely going to catch their performance at Forward Music Festival this September.

http://www.myspace.com/ganglian

Little Gold

Another Brooklyn-based band, but they’re not what you think. Little Gold play folk delights not replete of violin or catchy hooks. Take a listen. I promise it’s good.

http://www.myspace.com/littlegoldsongs

Other notable mentions: Passion Pit, Miike Snow, Desolation Wilderness, Air France, Patrick Watson, Foreign Born

I can’t think of anything else to give you. This should hold you over for now. 3 1/2 more weeks and I’m back in the homeland. Can’t wait to see some familiar faces and cause a little trouble.

Tell me what you’ve been enjoying this summer- bands, albums, songs, etc.

-Patrick

2 thoughts on “Noteworthy

Leave a Reply

