What’s Your Favorite Song?

Welcome (back) to the Thursday Topic! Last week’s post focused on the importance of lyrics in songs, with the consensus being that lyrics do matter, but often in a negative sense (lyrics have more power to ruin songs than to improve them). This week, we’re moving away from music philosophy and touching on a more lighthearted topic. If you liked last week’s post, check back next week for another philosophical topic.

____________________

We all have our song. Maybe it caused a profound reaction when you first heard it, or maybe it grew on you. Maybe it describes you perfectly, or maybe it represents something you’ve always wanted to be. Maybe you’ve always had it, or maybe it’s changed hundreds of times. But there is a song that is more important to you than any other, and it has shaped your appreciation of music and of life.

Today’s topic: What is your favorite song?

I will admit, my favorite song has changed repeatedly over the years. I started out a rock acolyte, listening exclusively to classic rock radio, before venturing into folk and funk music, and discovering a passion for soul music and jazz. But like a music-loving Percival, my adventures have led me back home, and I’ve come to embrace the first song I ever truly loved.

And here it is.

____________________

I first heard it when I was about five. My dad had made me a mix CD that had songs I liked at the time (apparently I was really into Styx for some reason) mixed in with songs from his band and various other tunes. Even to my young, inexperienced self, that song stood out to me as different from the rest. At first I didn’t care for it; I thought it was too weird. But I kept replaying it, almost against my own will. Eventually it became clear that Styx didn’t compare to this. Nothing did. (Of course, being a child, I later forgot about the song and got into N’Sync. You can’t win ’em all.)

Today, closing in on 40 years after the song’s release, it is still unique and unmatched in its completeness and emotion. Is it cliche? Sure. But that’s simply the consequence of a well-deserved ubiquity. And with the niche culture and hipster ethos of modern music, who knows if we’ll ever see a song achieve such a status again? So here’s to you, Freddie.

____________________

Now it’s your turn. What’s your favorite song? Why did that song stand out from the rest? How did you first experience that song?

11 thoughts on “What’s Your Favorite Song?

  1. I guess I’m more into albums and artists than any particular song. I could not make a favorite, though in my childhood a had a fair few (convoy, American pie, smells like teen spirit, weird Al’s albequerke). Now I couldn’t name any one song that I could put enough faith in to call my fave. What a sad person I am!

  2. Let It Be. Simple, pure, beautiful. I always related to the line, “And when the night is cloudy, there is still a light that shines on me.” I don’t know what that says about me. I finally saw Sir Paul sing it live last year in Milwaukee. Sublime.

  3. Mine has changed a bunch of times over the years, but ever since I saw the movie The Girl Who Knew Too Much, directed by Mario Bava, the main title theme, “Furore” by Adriano Celentano, just spoke to me in so many ways. Every time I hear it I find something new in it, from the odd rhythms to the sexy saxes. It’s weird, but I’ve heard a number of Celentano’s other tunes and they’re pretty much all rubbish Furore has now held my top spot for close to a dozen years.

    This is Furore, if html works in these comments.

  4. I hardly drop responses, but i did a few searching and wound up
    here Whats Your Favorite Song? | WUD Music. And I actually do have some
    questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or does it
    look as if like a few of these comments look as if they are written by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are posting at other social sites, I would like to follow everything new you have to post.
    Could you list of every one of all your shared sites like your twitter
    feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • You can find us on Facebook by searching WUD Music, and Twitter by searching @WUDMusic. Thanks for the comment!

  5. I’m not sure exactpy why but this blog is loading extremely slow for me.

    Is anyone else having this issuue or is it a
    issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem sill exists.

  6. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time deciding
    between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

